New California Driving Laws Start Tomorrow

The new year brings new driving regulations to the Golden State that take effect Jan. 1, 2013.

The first day of January always brings with it a new set of laws.

This year, there are a number of new driving laws that take effect tomorrow, Jan. 1, 2013.

“The changes to California’s traffic safety laws are designed to protect the motoring public,” said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow.  “Citizens are encouraged to familiarize themselves with these new laws in advance of the new year. Adhering to the rules of the road may save your life, or the lives of your fellow motorists.”

The following is a list of updates to California laws that all drivers should take into account. 

  • AB 2020: A person arrested for suspected DUI will no longer be given the option of a urine test. In previous years, officers gave the option of either a urine test or a blood test.
  • AB 45: Bus and limousine drivers will be held responsible for telling all underage passengers that drinking alcohol is illegal. If alcohol is being transported in a bus or limousine with underage passengers on board, a person at least 25 years old must be on board to ensure there is no underage consumption.
  • AB 1536: It will be legal to send and receive text messages with hands-free devices powered by voice-operated software. 
  • AB 1708: Drivers will have the right to show proof of insurance on a smartphone or tablet when pulled over. 
  • AB 2405: Cars with Clean Air Vehicle stickers will be allowed to use High Occupancy Toll lanes. 
  • SB 1298: Self-driving cars will be allowed on public roads for testing purposes as long as a licensed driver is in the driver's seat. 
  • SB 1047: CHP will begin a Silver Alert system similar to Amber Alert, but for missing people over 65 years old. 

What do you think of the new laws? What law would you add to make our roads safer? Tell us in the comments!

louise shoemaker January 02, 2013 at 04:12 AM
75 mph?? now that would be nice- but the idiots that want to pass are going 80 or 85 if not 90.....
Dennis Poirier January 02, 2013 at 05:06 AM
AB 2405 should be for two licensed drivers, to take axtra cars of the road. Not one driver and a child.
CA Male January 04, 2013 at 06:57 AM
LoL Your theory is waaay off base and not accurate under any scenarios. The difference between 55 and 75 MPH in time saved on a 30 minute cummute is so irrelevant that this law would be a total waste of time to enact such law and even more so to enforce it given how it would ammount to about 5 minutes. One Law I would support would be to make it illegal for anyone to drive under 65 MPH in the Laft (Fast) Lane... Then naturally, those azzholes who drive 55-65 MPH in the fast lane would start to "get the hint" and move over. Nothing can sour my commute or drive in general like a jerk cruising 65 or slower in the fast lane.
MIDDLECLASSMAN January 06, 2013 at 11:14 PM
Aren't we "Law-abiding" citizens already "overwhelmed" by too many "as sine" laws already??? And our OWN "Law-makers" don't abide by their own laws anyway!!! Does'nt anybody out here see the "HYPOCRISY"???
3mm February 08, 2013 at 04:16 AM
These are followable,sef explanatory and adapting to the new mellinium!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »